Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Rag Time with Uncle Neal and Jeff #6: - Bang by E.K. Blair

**Rag Time with Uncle Neal and Jeff is a monthly feature where two drunk dudes read mommy porn. All for your viewing pleasure. Enjoy!**


Welcome to Rag Time with Uncle Neal and Jeff!  This is what happens at my house when boys are left unattended, with beer and smut.  This first video was sent to me as a gift one night when I was out of town. They were tipsy and I had a paperback laying there, curiosity got the better of them.

It was so well received that the boys have agreed to continue the hijinx by reading an excerpt (of Black Heart Reviews choosing) every month.  Got a particular excerpt you'd like to see them read? Let us know! ;)

**Please note, these are books we love! We are not making fun of anything here other than the typical male reaction to reading erotica!**


 


Series:  Black Lotus #1
They say when you take revenge against another you lose a part of your innocence.
But I’m not innocent.
I haven’t been for a very long time.
My innocence was stolen from me. Taken was the life I was supposed to have. The soul I was born with. The ruby heart embedded in a life full of hopes and dreams.

Gone.
Vanished.

I never even had a choice.
I mourn that life. Mourn the what-ifs.
Until now.
I’m ready to take back what was always meant to be mine.

But every plan has a fatal flaw. Sometimes it’s the heart.


http://amzn.to/1KxZfHn


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21459365-bang?ac=1




New Release: Afraid to Fly by S.L. Jennings [Giveaway]


Black Heart Reviews is happy to be celebrating the release of AFRAID TO FLY by S.L. Jennings. Get ready to meet Dirty Dom in this fantastic stand-alone!


Amazon US  |  Amazon UK  | Nook

I’d like to tell you that I’m ok.

That the meaningless sex with countless women has somehow numbed the pain. That it’s deciphered the constant confusion in my head. Eased the self-hatred that sinks into my gut every time I look in the mirror.

I’d like to tell you that time heals all wounds.

That we evolve and grow into well-adjusted, stable adults, set on a path to right the world’s wrongs. That we are not our past…we are not our pain.

I want to tell you all those things. Hell, I want to believe all those things. But I’d be lying. I’m good at that. Living a lie is the only way I truly know how to survive.

But the day I saw her, I stopped surviving. I stopped existing. And for the first time in 24 years, I started living.

She brought me back to life. Set me free and sent my soul soaring. Made this useless shell of a man feel like…something. Something whole and real and good.

She saved me.
Although she believes I wasn’t even worth saving.


* This story chronicles the journey of Dominic Trevino, a character from Fear of Falling. However, it can be read as a standalone.

afaird to fly rd 2.jpg

Velvet sucked me until I was on the brink of release and for a quick moment, I thought about just getting it over with. But I needed more. I needed that physical connection. I yearned for her touch, her kiss, her smell. It reminded me that I was not like him. I was not what he had hoped I would be. It stated that just because I had been violated, that didn’t make me…it didn’t make different. It didn’t make me gay. I didn’t want that. I wanted this.
Spreading those shapely, toned thighs and filling her up until I pulsed in her womb validated me. Every stroke was a confirmation, and the deeper I went, the more whole I felt. But the moment it was over, the moment I pulled out of her, my latex-sheathed cock wet with her gratification, the doubt began to claw its way back in. Telling me that I was dirty—stained. Used. Useless.
She smiled lazily at me, the dark kohl outlining her eyes smudged along the apple of her cheek. I brushed it tenderly with the pad of my thumb and told her she was beautiful.
“Oh, Dom. You’re such a sweet gent. Too bloody sweet for this shit,” she giggled, looking soft and girlish. I liked her better that way, untarnished by the hardness of life.
“You think so?”
“I know so. Good guys like you shouldn’t be fucking strippers in the middle of the day. I mean, I’m not complaining—I can still feel you inside me, for crying out loud—but, I don’t know. You deserve better.”
I winced at her words, and how much I longed for them to be true. She was just feeding me more lies, and I was ingesting them like candy.
Except this one. This one I knew would never be true. Even if it was the one I wished for the most.
“Nah, I don’t. They don’t call me Dirty for nothing.”



Fear of Falling (A Fearless Novel)

Book Links: Amazon US  |  Amazon UK  |  iBooks  |  Nook 


S.L. Jennings is a New York Times & USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and paranormal romance, reality TV junkie, obsessive coffee drinker and collector of crazy.

Stalk Her
Website | Facebook | TwitterGoodreads


S.L. Jennings is giving away a $25 Amazon Gift Card

Monday, May 25, 2015

Review: Revelry by Carmen Jenner

Series: Taint #1
Release Date: May 25, 2015
Publisher: Carmen Jenner
Genre: Romance / New Adult
Source: Copy provided for honest review
Rating: ★★★★

http://amzn.to/1AsiuhP


Cooper Ryan is living the dream. Between the parties with rock royalty, booze, groupies and performing to crowds of thousands with his band Taint, life seems pretty sweet. There’s just one thing missing: the feisty little red-head that took his baby and ran off with his heart. Throwing himself into music is the only thing keeping him sane.

Until a run-in with a nonplussed, package-wielding PA throws everything off balance.

Ali Jones is having a craptastic life. Her grandmother died, leaving her homeless, penniless, and alone, and her boyfriend left her for a tramp who takes her clothes off for money. That’s why when she lands her dream job at a record company it seems like it’s too good to be true.

Because it is.

Slapped with an ultimatum, Ali must decide if facing the horror of the unemployment line is a fate worse than going on the road with four rowdy rockers hell-bent on making her life misery.

He’s adored by millions.
She’s not even loved by her cat.

Can they ignore their hatred long enough to survive the tour from hell? Or will their chemistry force everything to come crashing down around them?



Cooper Fucking Ryan. Sexy. Bossy. Emotionally unavailable. He's still a little shaken from losing his heart and his child to another man.  He's distracting himself with his career and a world tour until another feisty redhead falls in his lap.


Ali Jones has lost everything over the past year. She has no family, no love and is barely holding down the job she hopes will lead to the career she desperately wants.  Playing coffee girl to Cooper's band, is not on her to do list. But when it's that or lose her job, she goes...albeit kicking and screaming.

Ali is not the type of girl Taint is used to. She doesn't fall at the feet of all the boys. She's clumsy, bad mannered, foul mouthed, goofy, geeky and hates being told what to do.


Which is exactly what these spoiled rock stars need. Ali may have some animosity due to Cooper's demanding ways, but she can't deny the feelings she has for him. Underneath his cockiness is a sensitive guy. A caring guy, still harboring feelings for a different redhead.

Cooper isn't the only rockstar falling for Ali's smart ass and snarky mouth, though.


Levi also has his eyes on her.  And one night of too much drinking and hurt feelings starts a sexy lust triangle.


Ali, after spending so much time lonely, rolls with the punches. Until she becomes the punching bag and a band once built on family and friendship is cracking from rivalry, jealousy and mistrust. Hard decisions have to be made and hearts will undoubtedly be broken.


Taint is a little more lighthearted and fun then the last couple of Jenner's novels.  It's not all fun and games, this is still a romance between two people so afraid to love again they'll fall into sexual chemistry with abandon to keep it from happening again. You feel for Cooper's confusing emotions, you fall in love with Levi's way of hiding behind a huge labido. You hope for them all to find some sort of happiness.

But this is really Cooper's story and it's one I was very glad to read.

Jenner has created a great cast of characters with the Taint boys and the take-no-punches girls who love them.  I'm excited to see where the series goes and how these unique guys end up finding love.

In the effort of being transparent, this book was dedicated to me. Carmen is a good friend and I adore her and what she gave to me in Revelry.  I'm telling you I loved it but maybe I'm biased. However, if you're a fan of Jenner's, I think you'll love this start to what promises to be a fun series.



Saturday, May 23, 2015

Review: The Surrender Gate by Christopher Rice


Series: Desire Exchange #1
Release Date: February 3, 2015
Publisher: Evil Eye Concepts
Genre: Erotica
Source: Copy provided for honest review
Rating: ★★ ½

http://amzn.to/1ITHO1P



New York Times bestselling author Christopher Rice's first foray into erotic romance, The Flame, earned accolades from some of the genre's most beloved authors. "Sensual, passionate and intelligent," wrote Lexi Blake, "it's everything an erotic romance should be." J. Kenner called it "absolutely delicious," Cherise Sinclair hailed it as "beautifully lyrical" and Loreli James announced, "I look forward to reading more!" Now, Christopher returns you to the world first introduced in The Flame with an all new novel of The Desire Exchange…

Emily Blaine's life is about to change. Arthur Benoit, the kindly multi-millionaire who has acted as her surrogate father for years, has just told her he's leaving her his entire estate, and he only has a few months to live. Soon Emily will go from being a restaurant manager with a useless English degree to the one of the richest and most powerful women in New Orleans. There's just one price. Arthur has written a letter to his estranged son Ryan he hopes will mend the rift between them, and he wants Emily to deliver the letter before it's too late. But finding Ryan won't be easy. He's been missing for years. He was recently linked to a mysterious organization called The Desire Exchange. But is The Desire Exchange just an urban legend? Or are the rumors true? Is it truly a secret club where the wealthy can live out their most private sexual fantasies?

It's a task Emily can't undertake alone. But there's only one man qualified to help her, her gorgeous and confident best friend, Jonathan Claiborne. She's suspected Jonathan of working as a high-priced escort for months now, and she's willing to bet that while giving pleasure to some of the most powerful men in New Orleans, Jonathan has uncovered some possible leads to The Desire Exchange—and to Ryan Benoit. But Emily's attempt to uncover Jonathan's secret life lands the two of them in hot water. Literally. In order to escape the clutches of one of Jonathan's most powerful and dangerous clients, they're forced to act on long buried desires—for each other.

When Emily's mission turns into an undercover operation, Jonathan insists on going with her. He also insists they continue to explore their impossible, reckless passion for each other. Enter Marcus Dylan, the hard-charging ex-NAVY Seal Arthur has hired to keep Emily safe. But Marcus has been hired for another reason. He, too, has a burning passion for Emily, a passion that might keep Emily from being distracted and confused by a best friend who claims he might be able to go straight just for her. But Marcus is as rough and controlling as Jonathan is sensual and reckless. As Emily searches for a place where the rich turn their fantasies into reality, she will be forced to decide which one of her own long-ignored fantasies should become her reality. But as Emily, Jonathan, and Marcus draw closer to The Desire Exchange itself, they find their destination isn't just shrouded in mystery, but in magic as well.


Well, hell.

I met Christopher at RT this year, and the guy is a gem - for real, total sweetheart. But if I'm being honest here, and I am, the synopsis for The Surrender Gate is going to be much longer than my review for it.

The Surrender Gate starts off pretty promising, as Erotica's go.  The first sex scene happens some thirty pages in and it is DIRTY. Just how I like 'em in my erotica.  I even sold it to another blogger by telling her one particular detail of said sex scene. It's not something you read often in books and fuck was it hot in all the secret fantasy type ways.  

Secret fantasies is pretty much what The Surrender Gate is all about, a secret society - The Desire Exchange - takes people willing to pay the price and makes that fantasy come to life. Sounds yummy, right?

Here's the catch....

There is a shocking LACK of erotica in this erotica.  When it does finally happen again, after that first delicious taste, it's tinged in this strange paranormalish curtain and I just didn't understand it. I couldn't get behind it.

There was one thing that kept me going. The humor.  The witty banter between Emily and Marcus and even Emily and Jonathon, was great. I loved that part of The Surrender Gate.  I was just really confused by so much of the rest of it.

I think Rice has a strong voice and will find his place in the literary world, but maybe not with this book. 


Thursday, May 21, 2015

Review: Echo by E.K. Blair

Series: Black Lotus #2
Release Date: May 11, 2015
Publisher: E.K. Blair
Genre: Dark Romance / Thriller
Source: purchased
Rating: ★★★★★

http://amzn.to/1HvNy35


It's been said the longest echo ever measured lasted 75 seconds, but I can assure you, this will last much longer. The bang deafened the world around me, muting everything into nullity, allowing the reflection of its destruction to live far beyond its intended life. 

It will follow me forever, destroying me—destroying you.

You want answers? 

So do I.

I don't think there was any other book I had been anticipating more this year, than Echo.  Bang was a book that stuck with me for so long. Maybe due to how dark and disturbing it was, maybe because the characters were so deeply, horrifically flawed. I'm not really sure, but it lingered. To say I was excited to start Echo, would be greatly underappreciating my feelings.

Echo will not be an easy book to review and keep it spoiler free not only for those who have yet to read it, but also those who have yet to read Bang. I'll do my best to convey my feelings without giving away too much of the integral plot.


Nina, or Elizabeth as we've come to know her...is in a tailspin. A hurricane of emotions from losing everything.  Not that she ever really had a tight grip on much in life, but now she finds herself utterly alone.  Depressed, heartbroken, scared, angry and wasted - she leaves the life she's had with no sense of purpose or direction. Just a longing to be near a dream she never believes she can reach.

The journey ends up bringing her face to face with the past. A past she thought was lost forever. A person she desperately wants forgiveness from. A person dead set on never giving it to her. I can't blame this man for his feelings, I can't blame him for most of his actions.  Some are just, some are totally cruel and some make him as equally evil and unforgivable as she is. 


I can see how some readers will hate Blair for one scene in particular. It was a bitter pill to swallow.  It broke my heart. But most everything in this book broke my heart, so this felt in keeping with the theme.  These characters are brutal in their need for revenge and for pain.  Yet, they are also beautiful in the way they love unequivocally.  Despite everything they do to each other...underneath it all, it's fueled by the love they can't deny for each other.  They hate with such passion because they love with it as well. 

Echo does not have the same feel that Bang did.  It's definitely still very dark. However, it's much less conniving and twisted and so much more mental and emotional.  It's not about gaining justice and revenge, it's about healing once you are on the other side of that and facing the monster that revenge turned you into.

Echo by e.k. blair teaser

I spent more time with tears streaming down my face while reading Echo,  than not.  That's not a lie.  I could not help be shattered by the utter despair this book emoted.

After reading Echo, I realized just how underrated Blair is as an author.  Flipping through my notes, I noticed more highlighted quotes in this book than I have had for any book in such a long time.  Her words are gorgeous, even when they are completely disturbing.  She's an extremely talented writer with a brain that scares the ever loving shit out of me.  The places she has taken this story are terrifying and I'd hate to see what inspired her. Whatever it was though, I'm thankful for it. The Black Lotus series has proven to give me more feels than I ever expected.



Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Review: Asking For It by Lilah Pace

Series: Asking For It #1
Release Date: June 2, 2015
Publisher: Berkley
Genre: Erotica / Contemporary / Dark Romance
Source: Copy provided for honest review
Rating: ★★★★
Book Links: Amazon US  | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | iBooks


“This is who I am. This is what I want. Now I need a man dangerous enough to give it to me.” 

Graduate student Vivienne Charles is afraid of her own desires—ashamed to admit that she fantasizes about being taken by force, by a man who will claim her completely and without mercy. When the magnetic, mysterious Jonah Marks learns her secret, he makes an offer that stuns her: they will remain near-strangers to each other, and meet in secret so that he can fulfill her fantasy.

Their arrangement is twisted. The sex is incredible. And—despite their attempts to stay apart—soon their emotions are bound together as tightly as the rope around Vivienne’s wrists. But the secrets in their pasts threaten to turn their affair even darker...

Reader Advisory: Asking for It deals explicitly with fantasies of non-consensual sex. Readers sensitive to portrayals of non-consensual sex should be advised.


Asking For It pushes the boundaries of twisted and dark erotica by seating the reader soundly in the middle of sexual uncomfortableness, hopeful romanticism and psychological curiosities.

Vivienne Charles is perhaps the most interesting character I've read all year.  The path that leads to her fantasies and how those fantasies rule such a major part of her life, was beyond intriguing. She doesn't want to think the things she does, she certainly doesn't want her body to respond to those thoughts with so much passion. She lives in secret, trusting people with such dark desires isn't easy.

Jonah understands Vivienne's plight. He has some depraved wants of his own. The difference between Vivienne and Jonah is that Asking for It is written in Vivienne's point of view. So, we get to understand where her desires stem from. Maybe understand is too strong of a word. Regardless, we don't get that with Jonah. He's a mystery for a good portion of the book.  But no less interesting and appealing.

When the secrets all begin to unravel and the emotions taking place outside of the fantasy play, hit...that's when it becomes all the more heartbreaking.

Asking for It is not a standalone, but I'm thankful for that. I don't think the issues these two have, with themselves and each other, would be easily tidied up in one book.  The life and times of Vivienne and Jonah is, at best, bone jarring.  That shit takes time to mend.

I had a hard time setting this story down to live my own life. I was so curious as to how any real, sustainable relationship could come out of something so deeply personal and terrifying.  Asking for It is a strange mix of sadness, tenderness, tragedy and sexuality - told by a tender hand.



Monday, May 18, 2015

Review: Trust by Ella Frank

Series: Temptation #3
Release Date:  May 2, 2015
Publisher: Ella Frank
Genre: MM Romance / Erotica
Source: Purchased
Rating: ★★★★ ½

http://amzn.to/1K1ZUAo


TRUST – verb: to believe in the reliability, truth, or strength of another.

Up until now, Logan Mitchell has never had much of a reason to trust anyone.
Having struggled with a self-identity crisis throughout college, he’s spent the years since then creating a sophisticated facade to present to the world.
It’s an armor he thought was impenetrable—until he met Tate Morrison.
The gorgeous, headstrong bartender he’d sat across from only months ago has taken a tight hold of his heart, and Logan is discovering that it’s time to let go. 
It’s time to let someone inside.

After years of placing his dreams on hold for his family, Tate has finally chosen to do what makes him happy and follow his heart. 
The one thing he never would’ve imagined was that it would lead him into the arms of a man—and not just any man—the striking, never-takes-no-for-an-answer Logan Mitchell.
Tate has fallen hard, and as his world is turned on its axis and they move forward together, he finds his life becoming more entwined with the confident, successful lawyer.

Even though neither man expected the other, it’s time to trust in their relationship—but not everything comes so easily…


Over the course of the Temptation series, Logan and Tate became one of my all time favorite literary couples.  Seriously, they are right up there with Scarlett and Rhett. << Those are extreme words right there, people.

I think what draws me in is that they both come from such very different places, they both bring some strong insecurities to the relationship but they both fought so hard for each other and to find the life that works for them both.

Trust closes this series with some heavy emotions, some extreme turmoil, some tears...yep, I shed one or two. It touches on a real life subject that happens to many partners and I got very emotional about it.  I won't explain in order to keep this spoiler free, but it really is a heartbreaking situation.

On top of that, there are still those insecurities I spoke of that need to be handled once and for all.  It's not been an easy road for either of them, but the hard road is easier to walk when you have true love holding your hand along the way.

Frank handles the situations she creates for these two with such a unique voice though, she evens out the drama and sadness with Tate and Logan's signature banter. They never fail to put a smile on my face, that usually melts off by the steaminess their snarky talks lead to. 

This is such a vague review but the bottom line is this - read this series! Read about two men finding themselves in someone else, learning to trust and love in an absolutely unconditional way, all while having witty conversation and super fucking hot sex. What more could you ask for?




http://amzn.to/1KXtPHJ http://amzn.to/1cIWNQq http://amzn.to/1Iu55c7

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...