Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Review: Temporary Bliss by BJ harvey

Series: Bliss #1
Release Date: August 2013
Publisher: BJ Harvey
Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Source: Purchased
Rating: ★★★

Makenna Lewis cringes at any mention of the word commitment. She doesn’t want or need a relationship, but she does like sex (who doesn't).

That explains Noah, Sean, and Zander, her three 'friends with benefits'.

They know the score, they know they're not the only one, and each of them provide her with a different physical need that she craves and enjoys.

Until a late night encounter with the delicious Daniel Winters turns her preconceived notion of no-commitment completely on its head.

Soon she finds herself feeling things she vowed never to feel again, and when Daniel pushes for more than she’s willing to give, she falters.

What do you do when something that you’ve known to be so wrong in the past feels so damn right?

If you’re Mac, you run and hide.

But is Daniel the type of man who takes no for an answer?


A couple of weeks ago, I asked our lovely followers on Facebook to give me some recommendations on a sexy and fun romance series that I could sink my teeth in to. I wasn't looking for anything too heavy and just wanted to read a few books that would take me away on a quick and fun ride. BJ Harvey's Bliss series came highly recommended by one of our readers, so I decided to give it a chance. The books also happened to be on sale, so it was pretty easy for me to go ahead and 1-Click buy all the books in the series. 

BJ Harvey starts TEMPORARY BLISS on a fairly dark note with it's heroine, MacKenna 'Mac' Lewis, dealing with a crappy abusive relationship. Not wanting to giveaway too much, Mac doesn't stay in this relationship too long and thankfully escapes her confines. Harvey then fast forwards us four years later, and the Mac we met has disappeared, and we are introduced to the new Mac who revels in her single status and dabbles in a few relationships. 

This new Mac is a lot more confident and comfortable in her own skin. I found it refreshing to see a character be strong and confident after what she experienced in her life before. I loved how Harvey gave Mac the strength to move on with her life and not let her past dictate her life. But Mac's new outlook on life was also the one factor that hindered me from loving her. I feel like she made so many great strides in her life but her reluctance and blindness to her feelings/emotions really made her a bit annoying. I mean, how many times can you watch a character run away before you get annoyed with her?

Now as for the men in Mac's life, well there sure is a lot for us to choose from. Daniel Winters is definitely swoon worthy. The guy practically sweeps you off your feet throughout the whole book. He's the kind of character that mother's want their daughters to be with. Of course he has to be handsome, he's got manners that mothers would be proud of, and the dude has a sense of humor that keeps you entertained. He's a great match for Mac and that's why it was so frustrating to see Mac run away from him for no reason. But what was as equally as frustrating is Daniel saying he won't let her run away but basically does nothing to get her back. It was all so confusing and I honestly didn't know what was going on in their heads. 

As for the other guys, Harvey gives us a variety to choose from. First, we have Noah, the sexy surgeon dubbed as the "Walking Dildo". Next, we have Zander, the sweet male stripper who has a thing for getting it on in public. And last but certainly not least, we have Sean, the older and mysterious lawyer who has a little thing for whips and chains *wink wink* All three mean are great characters and I loved seeing the kinds of relationships Mac had with them. Harvey gave us really good introductions into their characters and I definitely cannot wait to see more of each men as the series continues. 

While there was a lot to like about TEMPORARY BLISS, I just wished that the story had a greater hold on me like I had hope it would have. Harvey fell short by a short margin to make me totally fall in love with Mac and Daniel's story. Mac and Daniels characters flaws is mainly the reason why I couldn't give this book more than a 3 star rating. Mac's running away knocked one star off, and Daniel's inability to run after the girl until the very last minute knocked off the other star.

Overall, this book was a very enjoyable and entertaining read. I loved the banter between Harvey's characters and their witty humor really helps the story move in a fast pace. I also really liked how Harvey flipped the 'man-ho' romance trope, and gave the female the reigns of this romance story. While the first installment of this series wasn't a hit out of the ballpark, it definitely got me wanting to know more about the other characters in the series, and hopefully get more of Mac and Daniel.


Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Review: Hitched (Crushed #2) by Dawn Rae Miller

Series: Crushed #2
Release Date: April 14, 2015
Publisher: Dawn Rae Miller
Genre: New Adult Contemporary
Source: Copy provided for honest review
Rating: ★★

Life hasn’t been easy for twenty-three year old Ellie Jacobs since her boyfriend, Fletch, walked out of her life two years earlier. She’s stuck in a consulting job she hates, buried under crushing student loans, and still longing for Fletch despite her best efforts to leave the past behind.

Letting go is hard when everywhere she turns, there’s a reminder of Fletch - from his face on gossip magazines to everyone being obsessed with his company, GroundFloor.

So when Ellie finds herself at a mutual friend’s wedding with Fletch, she decides to grin and bear it for the sake of the bride and groom. But years of anger have piled up, and Ellie doesn’t know if she can last the weekend without going crazy or lashing out.

However, as the wedding weekend progresses, Ellie realizes anger can only take you so far, but love can take you farther.


I am having such a huge moment of regret for reading Hitched.  I hate that I am having this moment, but I am having it, nonetheless.

Crushed was one of those diamond in the rough type books for me. It wasn't perfect but it gave me so much of what I look for in books. It had plenty of snark and humor, it was sexy but in a slow burn type of way and it had characters that you could actually give a shit about.

Unfortunately, all that was lost for me in Hitched.  I didn't care about Fletch or Ellie. In fact, so much of what I had loved about them before, seemed completely absent.  The relationship that was built on friendship and trust had been too easily tossed away and the reasoning for it was superficial at best.

On top of that, the resolution of what kept them apart for years...took all of about a five minute conversation and then they were back in love and planning a happily ever after.

I didn't buy it.

Crushed will always hold a special place with me, Hitched is one I hope to forget.



Saturday, April 25, 2015

The DNF Journals: Beauty's Kingdom by Anne Rice



Series: Sleeping Beauty #4
Release Date: April 21, 2015
Publisher: Viking
Genre: Erotica
Source: Copy provided for honest review



Before E. L. James and Sylvia Day, there was Anne Rice: Discover Beauty’s Kingdom, the fourth novel in the bestselling Sleeping Beauty series 
Mega-bestselling author Anne Rice, writing as A. N. Roquelaure, returns to the mysterious kingdom of Queen Eleanor in this new chapter of her Sleeping Beauty series. When the great queen is reported dead, Beauty and Laurent return to the kingdom they left twenty years before. Beauty agrees to take the throne, but she insists that all erotic servitude be voluntary. Countless eager princes, princesses, lords, ladies, and commoners journey to Beauty’s realm, where she and her husband usher in a new era of desire, longing, and ecstasy. Provocative and stirring, Rice’s imaginative retelling of the Sleeping Beauty myth will be adored by her longtime fans and new readers of erotica just discovering the novels.

This book is intended for mature audiences.

I am putting Beauty's Kingdom aside with an extreme heavy heart.  I even asked my friends to check for signs of the end of the world, Hell freezing over or pigs flying.  This can't be happening...I can't be DNFing an Anne Rice book. Right?

Sadly, I am.

I have such fond memories of reading the original trilogy, I read them in my early twenties, shortly after getting married and having a baby. They were such a great escape and they opened my eyes to a new genre.  I will always love and appreciate them.

That being said, I was extremely enthusiastic to read a new volume after all these years.

Disappointment sank in quickly, however.

The biggest issue I had from the start was the way the characters spoke and interacted with each other. I don't remember there being so many exclamations in the previous books, but it seems like every other sentence spoken here ends with a giant !. It kept throwing me off, wondering why everyone is so excited and yelling.

Then there is the extreme use of 'Oh,' at the beginning of so many of those same sentences.

Do I seem nit-picky? Maybe I am a bit, but this is Anne Rice. She's on a pretty high pedestal in my house.

I could have gotten past those issues fairly easily though if the story and characters had pulled me in. Unfortunately, that wasn't the case.  I found the relationship between Beauty and Laurent...cold and unemotional. Beauty's first interactions with Alexi, left me with zero tingles. Lady Eva  - I couldn't come to like at all.

While I think the future of the realm of sex slavery is mildly intriguing, I just could not get invested enough to care. 

This is no way diminishes my love and respect for Rice as an author, though. She will stay on that top shelf that I've had her on for so many years.



Friday, April 24, 2015

Cover Reveal: Sweet Sinful Nights by Lauren Blakely [Excerpt + Giveaway]

Lauren Blakely is well known for writing sexy, heartfelt and humorous contemporary romance as well as deeply emotional new adult stories -- one commonality in all her books is the scorching hot sexy times. You can expect nothing different from her upcoming Sinful Nights series! Starting with Brent and Shannon, SWEET SINFUL NIGHTS is sure to give you thrilling and sexy moments alike! 

Series: Sinful Nights #1
Release Date: June 30, 2015

She was the one who got away…

Ten years ago, Brent Nichols let the love of his life slip through his fingers. It’s his greatest regret, especially since she’s all but disappeared. But when the gorgeous and captivating woman walks into his life unexpectedly, he’s determined to win her back. Whatever it takes, he won’t make the same mistake twice.

Easier said than done…

Shannon Paige has hardened her heart to the man she was once engaged to be married to. After the way he left, and after the hell she’s been through with her checkered family, there’s no way she’s letting him into her life again. The problem is, the second she sees him, he’s more handsome and charming than before. And she’s torn between wanting to fight with him and wanting to sleep with him - maybe both. Soon they fall into each other’s arms, consumed with a desire that burns through the years.

But if these two fiery lovers are going to have a real second chance at this kind of intense, passionate, bone-deep love, he’ll have to give her his whole heart, and she’ll have to give up all the secrets from her messy past.

And that messy past is about to spill over into her carefully constructed present…
SWEET SINFUL NIGHTS is book one in SINFUL NIGHTS, a four-book series. Each book will follow a new couple.


SWEET SINFUL NIGHTS Pre-Order Links: 






Message from Lauren
Dear Readers:

I am thrilled to share some exciting news with you! Many of you have been patiently waiting for SWEET SINFUL NIGHTS, the story of Brent Nichols and the woman he loves. Many of you already know Brent since he’s the younger brother of Clay Nichols, from NIGHT AFTER NIGHT....The good news is this-SWEET SINFUL NIGHTS is Book One in a new erotic romance series, Sinful Nights, written in the high-heat, high-stakes, high-glamour style of the Seductive Nights series that readers know and love, but heading in a new direction with a new family that’s full of drama, checkered pasts and dangerous life-and-death secrets.

SWEET SINFUL NIGHTS kicks off this new series with a fiery, passionate, and suspenseful story of two lovers reuniting after ten years. Each book in this series follow a new couple and will be set against the backdrop of sin, money, sex, greed, passion and love in the city of Las Vegas. Brent’s love interest is Shannon Paige, and she has three brothers. Yep, you guessed it - each of her brothers will be getting a book! And while each book in the Sinful Nights series follows a new couple, get ready for a storyline that will carry across the entire series -- a story of danger, risk and high-stakes suspense.


She turned around and pushed hard on the ladies room door. But she felt his hand around her wrist, and he yanked her back, spinning her in one quick move, so she was chest to chest with him. She felt his breath on her.
            “It did work out well for me. I’m also not the same person I was ten years ago,” he said, then did that thing again — that thing where he undressed her with his eyes, where he fucked her completely with his hot, dirty stare. “And you obviously have become a different person too.”
            He tugged her, pulled her closer. His heart pounded against her breasts. His hand gripped her lower back.
            He felt so good that she didn’t resist because her stupid body was stuck in the past, was living ten years ago when he alone was the one who could help her, who could free her, who could take away all the pain in one touch.
            But he hadn’t, had he?
            He’d caused more in his wake.
            In his cruel exit.
            She jammed a hand against his chest. His strong, firm chest that she knew intimately. The fucker. “I had reasons. Real reasons. Life and death reasons,” she said in a low hiss.
            He shut his eyes briefly, looking pained. He sighed heavily, then somehow his arms were around her, and this time his touch wasn’t sexual. It wasn’t lustful. It was an embrace. From someone who knew nearly everything about her.
            “Are you okay? Are you safe?” he asked in a whisper into her hair.
            A tear had the audacity to slip out of her eye. To slide down her cheek, and fall onto his shoulder. It was a Pavlovian reaction. Too many tears had fallen on that shoulder.
            “Yes,” she said quietly, with a nod. “I am. It’s fine. It’s all fine.”
            He pulled back, tucked a hand under her chin, and lifted her face. She was so close to him she could trace the outline of his jaw, could run the pad of her finger over his stubble, his unbearably sexy eight-o-’clock shadow. She could drag her fingernails through his hair, soft, thick strands that simply had belonged between her hands. She could look in his eyes as he moved in her, those deep, soulful eyes that understood her. Somehow, he was rough and gentle, he was charming and fierce, he was funny and dirty. He was the man she’d wanted to spend the rest of her life with.
            “Are you sure?” he asked, so much tenderness and worry in his tone.
            She gathered herself, and willed that obstinate organ in her chest to stop beating in double time. She informed her traitorous body to stop trembling just from being near him. “Yes. I’m sure.”
            He let her go. He tipped his forehead back to the bar. “I should get back out there. They’ll start wondering. See you in a few.”
            And he walked away.
            Just like the last time she’d seen him.
            She pressed her lips together, and breathed out hard. She pushed open the ladies room door, walked to the sink, dropped her hands onto the cool tile and let out the longest, hardest breath. She hoped to hell this was the only time she’d have to deal with Brent Nichols.
            When she was near to him like that, she couldn’t think straight. She could only feel. And that was far too dangerous for her heart.


 Author Photo 
Lauren Blakely writes sexy contemporary romance novels with heat, heart, and humor, and her books have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and iBooks bestseller lists. Like the heroine in FAR TOO TEMPTING, she thinks life should be filled with family, laughter, and the kind of love that love songs promise. Lauren lives in California with her husband, children, and dogs. Her novels includeCaught Up In Us, Pretending He’s Mine, Playing With Her Heart, and Trophy Husband. She also writes for young adults under the name Daisy Whitney.

Connect with Lauren  Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads



Lauren is giving away a $25 Victoria’s Secret gift card!


Thursday, April 23, 2015

Review: Do Not Disturb (Deanna Madden #2) by Alessandra Torre

Series: Deanna Madden #2
Release Date: April 21, 2015
Publisher: Redhook
Genre: Dark Thriller
Source: Copy provided for honest review
Rating: ★★★★

1. Don't leave the apartment.
2. Never let anyone in.
3. Don't kill anyone.

The rules were simple and I broke them.
Now I must face the consequences.
Everyone else must face me.


The Girl in 6E was one of my top reads last year, one of the few books in recent history that I've re-read. I enjoyed it that much.  I was eager to jump back into the dark and twisted mind of Deanna Madden.

So much of what I enjoyed about TGi6E was present in Do Not Disturb. It's lined with the same frantic, thrilling and murderous urges. Yet, balanced out with this strange eroticism that comes along with being a virgin who sells the illusion of sex over the web.

Deanna is unlike any character I've ever read. She is fully aware of her biggest flaw and takes extreme steps to ensure the safety of others. She also knows she wants more out of life. She wants to be able to cross the street to grab a snack without committing murder in the first. She wants to date her boyfriend without it landing him in a body bag. But a murderer will do what a murderer does.

While Deanna struggles to right little parts of her life and try to fit Jeremy, her somewhat clueless boyfriend, into her strange existence - someone on the other side of the internet camgirl connection sets his sites on her.  He should probably be careful who he fucks with though, they might just be more homicidal than himself.

I have to say that I kind of missed more of the camgirl experiences, there seemed to be quite a bit more in the first book. BUT, there was more growth from Deanna in this one and I really wanted to see that.  She's not there yet, but she makes huge strides and I kind of love the blind faith Jeremy gives her...even if it isn't all together deserving. 

If you read The Girl in 6E and enjoyed it, I'd venture to say you'd enjoy this volume as well.  While it doesn't hold quite the same creepiness factor, it's no less thrilling and raw.  It's an exciting read when the hero is also kind of the villain. 



Tuesday, April 21, 2015

New Release: Do Not Disturb by A. R. Torre [Giveaway]


We are so excited to be celebrating the release of A.R. Torre's DO NOT DISTUB! This is highly anticipated follow-up to The Girl in 6E. 

Title: Do Not Disturb (Deanna Madden, #2)
Author: A. R. Torre (Alessandra Torre)
Genre: Erotic Suspense
Releasing: April 21st

Equal parts Dexter and 50 Shades, this is the eagerly awaited follow-up to the daring erotic thriller, The Girl in 6E, by A.R. Torre.

My rules:
1. Don't leave the apartment.
2. Never let anyone in.
3. Don't kill anyone.

The rules were simple and I broke them.
Now I must face the consequences.
Everyone else must face me. 


Want to join the Goodreads Buddy Read for Do Not Disturb?
Here is the link to join the buddy read: http://bit.ly/1O07VJ4


 

The Girl in 6E  - Amazon  |  Amazon UK  |  Amazon AU  |  B&N
Do Not Disturb -  Amazon  |  Amazon UK  |  Amazon AU  |  B&N



A New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author, Alessandra Torre has written nine novels, four of which became #1 Erotic Bestsellers.

Her first book, Blindfolded Innocence, became a breakout hit, rising to the top of the charts on Kindle and Amazon where it attracted the interest of major publishing houses and garnered Torre her first print deal with Harlequin HQN. Less than twelve months later, Torre signed a second print deal, this time with Redhook (Hachette) for her erotic thriller The Girl in 6E.

From her home near the warm waters of the Emerald Coast in Florida, she devotes several hours each day to various writing projects and interacting with her fans on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest. Happily married and with one son, she loves watching SEC football games, horseback riding, reading and watching movies.


Connect with A.R. Torre
Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |  Amazon  |  Pinterest



Are you part of Alessandra's fan group on Goodreads? 
Here is the link to JOIN TODAY: http://bit.ly/1cEGTGy


Don't miss the DO NOT DISTURB release day events!

Tuesday April 21st 9:30PM - 11:00PM EST - Facebook Party (www.facebook.com/AlessandraTorre0/

Wednesday April 22nd 11:00 PM - Midnight EST - Twitter party -
Make sure to use #DoNotDisturb to participate (@ReadAlessandra)





Giveaway - LIFT: Authors Raising Autism Awareness Week 3

LIFT banner justified
Week 3 of LIFT doesn't let up! We have such incredible donations from amazing authors this week.
If you missed the LIFT t-shirts, there's still a chance! Reserve yours in our "round two" LIFT order today! Don't be left out when we have LIFT selfie day!

LIFT tshirt

This week's MegaGiveaway benefits The Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation.
Thank you to the generous authors donating!



Monday, April 20, 2015

Giveaway: Love, In Spanish by Karina Halle






a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: House of Sin (Part 1) by Vince Stark

Series: House of Sin 1
Release Date: April 18, 2015
Publisher: Vince Stark
Genre: Erotica
Source: Purchased
Rating: ★★★ ½


***HOUSE OF SIN is a two-part erotica series that contains extremely explicit sex told from the male POV. If you are sensitive to scenes that include unsafe sexual practices, multiple partners, dubious consent, orgies, sex clubs, bondage, violence, drugs, coarse language and cliffhangers, this isn't the book for you.*** 

You say you want to know what's going on in a man's head during sex? Well, Jack Willow is about to take you on a wild ride.

Hot, obsessive, and emotionally unavailable, Jack's a man who's always gotten what he wants . But when he meets a naive, young girl named Leah and pulls her into the seedy underbelly of an underground sex club, he not only gets what he wants, he gets more than he bargained for. Jack's secret world is built on darkness and depravity and the further Leah gets involved in his house of sin, the more she craves it. The more she needs it. And the more dangerous it gets. 

Unfortunately, the sex that brings them together is also the sex that could tear them apart. 


The male point of view is something I've always been fascinated by.  The male mind seems so different than the females. More simple, straight forward, less ... I don't know, flowery.  House of Sin is proof of that, but not in a bad way.

Jack Willow is a little bit adrenaline junky, a little bit sexual deviant, quite a bit more of a sexual addict and ultimately, all male.  Confident and non-committal.

 The truth is my whole life has been a battle between us, my cock and me.

The only part of him that changes when he meets Leah is the commitment part. He may have finally found a woman he want's for more that just a quick nut. Leah is so many of the things Jack is not. She's not experienced the city's sexual underbelly as Jack has. She's a little wholesome and submissive but with an inner desire to have some taboo experiences.

As Jack becomes more smitten, he also becomes more apprehensive with the idea of Leah playing out these desires. But who is he, being a manwhore of sorts, to stop her inner vixen from living a little?



I think what I appreciated most about Jack is that though he has some predatory urges, he does not really want to victimize women. He searches for women that are like him. Who have sexual desires that are bit off center, who have that need for sexual release just to be able to focus...he does not really want to dirty up something clean he just wants to the little stains inside those seemingly clean things to have a moment to shine without shame.

I thought, while reading House of Sin, that I had Jack figured out.  But the end has me re-thinking so much of it.  The twist has me evaluating all his actions in a new light, which I appreciate. I could go back to the start, re-read and have an entirely new experience with this new information, I think.

While the writing is a bit on the simple side, perhaps a little repetitive, it worked well enough for the story being told. I enjoyed my ride through Jack's mind and eagerly await part two.



Sunday, April 19, 2015

Review: The Duff by Kody Keplinger

Series: Standalone
Release Date: Feb 25, 2015
Publisher: Hodder Children's Books
Genre: YA
Source: Copy provided for honest review
Rating: ★★★ ½

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him. Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.


The Duff was such a fun read, much more than I had anticipated. Mostly, because of Bianca.

What a little firecracker, she is.  She's cynical and snarky, a bit tom boyish and undeniably loyal.  She is also pretty upfront and brave, a rare quality in many teen girls. Especially teen girls who don't fit the 'beautiful people' mold.

Wesley is quite the opposite of Bianca, at first glance. He's a player and makes no argument against that title. In fact, he seems to embrace it.  He comes across as callous and cocky when he first hits the pages, chatting up Bianca (the DUFF) in an attempt to bed one of her hot best friends.

Like every really good book, the characters are more than they seem at first.  The DUFF is no different there.  Bianca is more than a girl with a hard shell, she's also a little heart broken and a lot reserved with her heart.  Just as Wesley isn't above falling in love with the girl that challenges his every move....even if she doesn't look like she just jumped off the cover of  Seventeen Magazine.

My favorite moments were the verbal tennis matches these two had with each other. They are quick witted kids and I giggled a lot.

The Duff isn't the deepest read out there by any means, but it also isn't full of fluff.  It has purpose and meaning with enough humor to ensure you are a happy reader from start to stop. 



Thursday, April 16, 2015

Giveaway - LIFT: Authors Raising Autism Awareness Week Two

LIFT banner justifiedIt's week two of LIFT: Authors Raising Autism Awareness!
More than 50 authors are banding together this month, donating their great work, and increasing awareness and acceptance for those living with Autism.

This Week's LIFT Authors

The Rafflecopter is loaded with e-books, signed paperbacks, swag and gift cards from these amazing authors! Make sure you enter!

We are highlighting The Autism Society this week. With more than 50 years of service to the autism community, they are one of the nation’s leading grassroots autism organization. Please consider supporting their efforts!


 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Review: Beautiful Secret by Christina Lauren

Series: Beautiful Bastard #4
Release Date: April 14, 2015
Publisher: Gallery Books
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Source: Copy provided for honest review
Rating: ★★★★ ½


When Ruby Miller’s boss announces he’s sending her on an extended business trip to New York City, she’s shocked. As one of the best and brightest young engineers in London, she knows she’s professionally up to the task. The part that’s throwing her is where she’ll be spending a month up close and personal working alongside—and staying in a hotel with—Niall Stella, her firm’s top urban planning executive and The Hottest Man Alive. Despite her ongoing crush, Ruby is certain Niall barely knows she’s alive…until their flirty overnight flight makes him sit up and take notice.

Not one for letting loose and breaking rules, recently divorced Niall would describe himself as hopeless when it comes to women. But even he knows outgoing California-girl Ruby is a breath of fresh air. Once she makes it her mission to help the sexy Brit loosen his tie, there’s no turning back. Thousands of miles from London, it’s easy for the lovers to play pretend. But when the trip is over, will the relationship they’ve built up fall down?


Beautiful Secret is so my kind of romance! Give me awkward geekiness all day long, which is exactly what Christina Lauren did with Niall and Ruby.

This is not a conventional romance. This also isn't a typical Christina Lauren book.  You won't be getting a cookie cutter story line here. You still get the signature sense of humor and characters with a certain uniqueness about them, but it is a departure from what contemporary romance has come to be. 

Niall is extremely old fashioned in many ways and very closed off.  Ruby is much more sexually experienced and outgoing but still very nervous and timid at times with her long time crush. 

I immediately loved Ruby. Her brain is a place I would love to spend some quality time in. It's quick and quirky and reminds me of schoolgirl days in how playful it could be.

Niall, gotta say...confused and frustrated the hell out of me through most of the book. But I still absolutely adored him. He's completely oblivious to, well, most everything. He has no clue how to act around a woman and he screws that up. A lot.

While the beginnings of their sexual relationship gave me pause, I eventually began to find it endearing and sweet. Neither wants to push too hard or too fast, yet they can't deny the attraction they find have with each other. I can see how some readers could be turning up their noses to how this relationship plays out, but I enjoyed the unconventional aspect of it. 

Beautiful Secret is a testimony to muddling your way through new relationships in the hopes that love might take hold.

If you are a fan of Christina Lauren, you will undoubtedly find something you love about Beautiful Secret.  I found many things!



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...