Friday, August 29, 2014

Author Spotlight + Giveaway - JC Emery



JC Emery

As a child, JC was fascinated by things that went bump in the night. As they say, some things never change. Now, as an adult, she divides her time between the sexy law men, mythical creatures, bad-ass bikers, and kick-ass heroines that live inside her head and her Netflix addiction. JC is a San Francisco Bay Area native, but has also called both Texas and Louisiana home. These days she rocks her flip flops year-round in Northern California and can’t imagine a climate more beautiful. Her dream is to own her own Harley and she feels compelled to tell you that she is team Peeta all the way.

JC is the author of the Men With Badges Line, the Birthright Series, and the Bayonet Scars Series.


http://www.jaycrownover.com/https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJayCrownoverhttp://www.goodreads.com/Crownoverhttps://twitter.com/JayCrownover

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00G7T94IW/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00G7T94IW&linkCode=as2&tag=blahearev-20&linkId=H4NUXUAL6ZRC7WO6
Death comes in Armani. Salvation comes in leather.

Principessa to the Mancuso crime family, Alexandra knows a thing or two about living outside the bounds of the law. Suffocated by the future her father has laid out for her, she makes a choice she can't take back, changing the entire trajectory of her life.

Thrust into the dark and dangerous world of the Forsaken Motorcycle Club for her own protection, Alex finds herself faced with the last thing she needs right now: the man of her dreams. He’s sex in leather, the devil incarnate, and one hell of a kisser. But he’s also off-limits. Ryan Stone can be her friend, but he’s forbidden to be her lover.

Third-generation Forsaken, Ryan knows nothing other than life on two wheels, and he wouldn’t have it any other way. He enjoys the many privileges that come with the patch, and the only laws he recognizes are the ones set-forth by his club. That is, until who he wants more than anything isn’t allowed on the back of his bike —or in his bed. Balancing his desire for her body, and need to keep her safe, Ryan tries to keep Alex at a distance. Finally having made a choice for herself, she’s done hearing the word “no” and will push boundaries even Ryan himself doesn’t dare cross.

Love is never more tempting than when it’s forbidden.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HRKLQ0E/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00HRKLQ0E&linkCode=as2&tag=blahearev-20&linkId=CXE4VIKFN4G3FIOH


Loneliness suffocates the heart. Acceptance breaks down walls.

As a Lost Girl to the Forsaken Motorcycle Club, Nicole Whelan knows how to party. She’s not cut-out for relationships and her life is way too complicated for anything more than casual encounters. But one night when she falls into Duke’s bed at the clubhouse, he sees something in her that he can’t let go of—no matter how many times she tries to run.

Having been left to raise her teenage brother, Jeremy, she’s already got her hands full and isn’t looking for anymore complications. But Duke’s just watched his best friend fall for the only girl he couldn’t have, and then almost lose her so shortly after, shaking him to his core. Faced with his own loneliness, he’s more determined than ever to break down Nic’s walls and show her that he can be good for her; but he’s got a bad track record and she’s got a bad temper. Changing his ways isn’t easy when he’s not sure what he’s even changing for.

The violence and turmoil are at an all-time high, and Forsaken is in a vulnerable place when a twist of fate breathes new life into the club. It’s a much-needed beacon of hope for the embattled biker family, even if everyone’s not exactly on board. With Duke and Nic’s relationship already on shaky ground, and something even more important at stake, the Forsaken Motorcycle Club will fight like hell to keep their family together and whole.

Love is never more precious than when it’s new.
Rev JC Emery

Everyone belongs somewhere. Even the misfits.

With the looming threat from the Mancuso Crime Family, the Forsaken Motorcycle Club is preparing for a war that could destroy them. Grady, the club’s Sergeant-at-Arms, knows that love makes you weak, and he has zero interest in adding to his liabilities– especially now. He’s already got his teenage daughter who keeps him on his toes and a beef within the club that could fracture his relationship with a fellow brother for good.

For Holly Mercer, her life is finally getting on track and the last thing she wants is trouble from her hometown’s resident outlaws. Keeping her nose clean is easier said than done, when suddenly she finds herself embroiled in club business. Holly might like the idea of being with a real-life bad boy, but even being in the same room with tough-as-nails Grady flusters her.

When Holly inadvertently finds herself on Mancuso’s radar, she has two choices: trust that Grady will protect her, or continue to refuse the club’s help. Both roads are dangerous, but only one has the chance to damage her beyond repair.

Love is never more dangerous than when it can destroy you.



Young love is always perfect. Until it's not.

Cheyenne Grady is a total daddy's girl to her bad-ass father, the Sergeant-at-Arms of the Forsaken Motorcycle Club. She's funny, and kind, and she just wants that deep, earth-shattering love like her dad has with her school secretary, Holly. But Cheyenne's been looking in the wrong direction, because the only good that can come from the way she looks at Jeremy Whelan is a lesson in heartbreak.

Jeremy always wanted to prospect for the Forsaken Motorcycle Club and wear the same patch as his father. When a life-long dream becomes reality, Jeremy realizes that the outlaw lifestyle is not for the faint of heart. Nor is it easy on relationships. He wants to be a good man, but temptation is everywhere.

Cheyenne is beautiful, and strong, and exactly what Jeremy could have forever. As long as he doesn't screw it up.

Love is never more powerful than the first time.


Tragedy cuts deep. Revenge burns deeper.

The blood of enemies coats the leather of their vests and a trail of bodies lie in their wake, but the Forsaken Motorcycle Club isn't done yet. Carlo Mancuso still needs to pay for his sins. Nobody knows that more than Ian Buckley, the Treasurer for Forsaken.

Ian prefers his pleasure mixed with pain and he's only ever at peace when he's doling out justice. Convinced that he's too unstable and sadistic to take an Old Lady, he keeps his trysts, like all of his relationships, brief and anonymous. But with his club at war, and the stakes being so personal, Ian's feeling the events around him more deeply than he expects.

Mindy Mercer is the sweet daughter of Fort Bragg’s most respectable cop. At least that’s how the town sees her. Very few people know the Mindy who hides her tracks and battles her cravings by lying to everyone around her. She thinks she has control of her addiction until she suffers an attack that leaves her searching for a way out of her own personal hell.

Mindy has never been more desperately in need of a savior and Ian has never seen a more beautifully destroyed creature in his life. Their attraction is intense, but their damage is extreme. Some scars never heal, and some people never get better.

Love is never more painful than when it can kill you.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, August 28, 2014

WTF Friday #3: Potty Humor


**WTF Friday is a weekly feature here at Black Heart, where we explore the stranger side of life.  It will not always be suitable for ages under 18, for work or for people lacking a sense of humor.  This is all in the name of entertainment, don't take it too seriously.**


I was browsing the interweb today and came across something. I won't tell you how or why. Some things are best left buried in a deep dark hole, am I right?  Anywho...I saw this picture:


and immediately thought "Wow, Japan is kind of fucked up, like in a totally awesome way." Again, am I right?  But then I started to wonder about other strange urinals and toilets which led me to the amazing thing that is Google, and found these:

Sorry, there was no explanation as to what the robot limbs are for. To hold the dick? To give it a little shake when dude is done? Your guess is as good as mine. 

Oh Germany, thank you for this one. You proved to us that men are well and truly lazy shits if they can't even manage a door.

Wonder what the Vatican would say about this one. And, what is that on the end?

Is that a camera? Nice!

Wow.

I don't want sinks to feel left out though!




Pretty sure this last one needs to be installed in my house. ;)



Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Rag Time with Uncle Neal & Jeff #1: Welcome to Sugartown by Carmen Jenner


**Rag Time with Uncle Neal and Jeff is a monthly feature where two drunk dudes read mommy porn. All for your viewing pleasure. Enjoy!**


Welcome to Rag Time with Uncle Neal and Jeff!  This is what happens at my house when boys are left unattended, with beer and smut.  This first video was sent to me as a gift one night when I was out of town. They were tipsy and I had a paperback laying there, curiosity got the better of them.

It was so well received that the boys have agreed to continue the hijinx by reading an excerpt (of Black Heart Reviews choosing) every month.  Got a particular excerpt you'd like to see them read? Let us know! ;)

Our first Rag Time is an excerpt from Welcome to Sugartown by Carmen Jenner. (click the book image for more information)

Welcome to Sugartown by Carmen Jenner




Review: Desired by Alisa Wood

Series Order Number: True Alpha #1
Release Date: September 2, 2014
Publisher: Alisa Wood
Genre: New Adult Paranormal Serial
Source: Copy provided for honest review
Rating: ★★★★

Shifters live in the shadows of Seattle, just under the skin of the alpha male, dot-com entrepreneurs who are building a new Silicon Valley in the Emerald City.

Mia is just a college girl trying to earn her business degree and dig out of the poverty she was born into—being a shifter is something she hides, hoping her secret won’t sabotage her dreams. 

Lucas is a broken alpha, a wolf who lost his mate, his pack, and almost himself—he wasn’t looking to rescue a girl or start a pack war. But now he has to keep her safe or it won’t just be her life, but his whole family at risk… only his inner wolf can’t seem to keep its paws off a girl who has secrets of her own.

Desired (True Alpha 1) is 80 pages or 20,000 words and is the first of six TRUE ALPHA episodes.

 
I've been in a contemporary romance slump as of late. I used to read so much paranormal and have slipped from that over the past year or so.  Desired showed up at just the right time to tickle my shifter need and get me back in the mood for more.

Mia is a shifter in hiding.  She doesn't know the first thing about shifters, other than she is one.  She's been packless her entire life and doesn't even realize that it's not normal.  She trudges through her daily life hoping no one will catch on and she won't pull an accidental shift at just the WRONG time.

When targeted by a few fellow shifters one night, Lucas comes to her rescue.  Thinking he is just protecting an innocent human.  His actions, however, elicit a pack war and a desire in his heart for someone he really shouldn't want.

Lucas is broken, Mia is mysterious and together they're a total mess of mixed feelings and hot sexual tension.  Which, only made for an exciting read.  I'm eager to hear Mia's back story and I'm intrigued by the taste of Lucas' that was shown. 

Desired is a strong start to what promises to be a fun series.  My only issue is that it was only a teaser.  It's short, as a serial should be, but that only gives you the set up of the story.  So, it left me wanting more.  That's no bad thing though.  It only ensures I'll be on the lookout for the next!


Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Release Blitz + Giveaway: I Want it That Way by Ann Aguirre


IWITW RDL Banner

We are absolutely thrilled to bring you the Release Day Launch for Ann Aguirre's I WANT IT THAT WAY! I WANT IT THAT WAY is a New Adult contemporary romance and is the first book in the 2B Trilogy Series, published by Harlequin HQN. We are already in love with this series and Ann's characters! Read the excerpt, then go grab your copy today!!


I Want It That Way


Nadia Conrad has big dreams, and she’s determined to make them come true. But between maintaining her college scholarship and working at the local day care to support herself, dating’s the last thing on her mind. Then she moves into a new apartment and meets the taciturn yet irresistible guy in 1B….

Daniel Tyler has grown up too fast. Becoming a single dad at twenty turned his life upside down—and brought him heartache he can’t risk again. Now, as he raises his four-year-old son while balancing a full-time construction management job and night classes, the last thing he wants is noisy students living in the apartment upstairs.

But one night, Nadia’s and Ty’s paths cross, and soon they can’t stay away from each other. The timing is all wrong—but love happens when it happens. And you can’t know what you truly need until you stand to lose it. 

"A tender, sweet, and sexy story about how life—and falling in love—can never be planned." —Jennifer L. Armentrout, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wait for You

  IWITW Teaser

I WANT IT THAT WAY on Goodreads

Read the First Chapter HERE!


 “Where are you from?” Ah, an actual question. That means I can ask one back. “Nebraska, toward the South Dakota and Wyoming side, if that helps.” “I’ve never met anyone from there.” Michigan was a long way from home. “I usually get ‘not in Nebraska anymore’ jokes, and then I have to decide if I’m going to remind them that’s Kansas or play along.” “What do you usually do?” “Play along.” “You don’t like conflict, huh?” He sounded normal tonight, as if talking to me wasn’t an unpleasant chore anymore. That was a relief since I’d come to look forward to these moments with him so much. More, maybe, than I’d like to admit.Right. Friends. I distracted myself by considering his question. “Not if it can be avoided. I’m not what you’d call pugnacious, no. But I like to think I don’t back off important issues. What about you?” “No.” His voice was bleak and quiet. “I don’t. Even when I should.” Wow, that took a dark turn. If I could’ve jumped onto his patio without breaking an ankle or waking Sam, I’d have been down there like a shot. The distance between us seemed intolerable, and from the knot in my throat, I didn’t see how I could live another second without touching him, finding out if his hair was as soft as it looked or what he smelled like. I wanted him in a way I never had before. In high school, I had a boyfriend who played basketball, and we broke up when I left the state. It was a rational decision, and I didn’t miss him that much once I was gone. My freshman year, I went out with a lot of different guys, one date here, two dates there, but I never clicked with anyone enough to focus on them. Sometimes there were hookups with no strings, no expectations. Classes, friends and work seemed a lot more important. The intensity of this attraction was foreign and frightening, if exhilarating. I might already be backing off if I had the faintest sense that Ty was jerking me around on purpose. Wish he didn’t make me feel this way. It’d be so much simpler if I could friend-zone him. I realized I still hadn’t touched his verbal grenade. “We all have things we’d do differently in hindsight.” “What is it about you?” he asked in a wondering tone. “Huh?” “You make me…better. Calmer.” “Like a sedative?” I snickered. It was the least sexy thing a guy had ever said to me, including a junior high squeeze who said my face wasn’t actually that bad. He laughed, too, a sheepish sound. “I didn’t mean it like that. Just…I’m worried pretty much all the time that I’m dropping the ball somewhere, about to face-plant, but when I come out here and hear your voice, everything backs off like ten steps. I can breathe again.”



        Author Photo 

Ann Aguirre is a New York Times & USA Today bestselling author and RITA winner with a degree in English Literature; before she began writing full time, she was a clown, a clerk, a voice actress, and a savior of stray kittens, not necessarily in that order. She grew up in a yellow house across from a cornfield, but now she lives in sunny Mexico with her husband, children, and various pets. Ann likes books, emo music, action movies, and she writes all kinds of genre fiction for adults and teens, published with Harlequin, Macmillan, and Penguin, among others.     
  


Monday, August 25, 2014

Review + Author Spotlight + Giveaway - Follow (Social Media 1) by JA Huss


JA Huss

JA Huss is the author of the Amazon bestselling Rook and Ronin series, the epic science fiction I Am Just Junco series, and hundreds of kid-friendly science books in subjects such as biology, physics, anatomy and physiology, astronomy, and forensics. She has an undergraduate degree in equine science and a master’s degree in forensic toxicology. She has never taken a creative writing class and she hopes she never will.
https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJAHusshttp://jahuss.com/https://twitter.com/JAHusshttps://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6446815.J_A_Huss

 THIS IS A SERIAL - 6 NOVELLAS
THAT MEANS ALL ENDINGS ARE CLIFFHANGERS
EACH NOVELLA IS ABOUT 120-150 PAGES LONG

BOOKS ARE RELEASED EVERY TWO WEEKS

All books will be $0.99 each during their pre-sale time frame! 

Series Order Number: Social Media #1
Release Date: August 27, 2014
Publisher: JA Huss
Genre: Erotic Serial
Source: Copy provided for honest review
Rating: ★★★★★

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MSBAHES/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00MSBAHES&linkCode=as2&tag=blahearev-20&linkId=RJR23N5MPM6WBFD5


 #Women.

I fuck them. I use them. I pay them off. I find another. My demands are never denied. My contracts are always signed. They submit to me. Willingly. Completely. Temporarily. This is how it's always been.

Until I saw that filthy tweet.

@VaughnAsher My bare pussy. Your tongue. #ThingsIThinkAboutToGetOff

"FilthyBlueBird" thinks she can tease me with hashtags and then hide behind a Twitter handle? She thinks I wouldn't be more than happy to #RockHerFilthyWorld? She's wrong.

Her online fantasy is about to collide with her public reality, and it's about to happen... now.



Vaughn Asher is a dick. He's also been Grace's celebrity obsession for years.  She's daydreamed of the things she would let him do to her, and graphically tweeted about them.  But a chance meeting on a secluded island getaway proves that dreams don't always come true. 

Vaughn wants Grace to submit to him.  Do as he says, perform how he wants, respond to his every command.  Grace does not submit easily, she fights Vaughn's arrogant ways.  She's not eager to succumb to his degrading demands. Even though he tries to convince her it is for her pleasure as well as his. 

I loved Grace for her fight.  Vaughn is hot, but he is truly a dick.  Constantly placing Grace in demeaning situations, getting off and leaving her hanging.  She finally has enough and I think it is her obstinance, mixed with her mysterious demeanor that will have him chasing after her.

Because there is something a little mysterious about Grace. Huss gives you a good look at the young woman now, but not so much as why she is who she is and you get the sense that there is a good story laying in her past.  

Perhaps as well with Vaughn.  Something has made him want women as playthings, as "girls" instead of girlfriends.  Pets instead of partners. Something makes him tick and I want to know what.

Huss delivers her signature style with Follow, handing you deliciously complex characters, steaming hot erotic scenes, fun banter and just a few puzzle pieces to start putting the picture together.  I am very thankful that she is releasing these in two week intervals because you just can't help wanting more!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Choose Your Own Adventure Giveaway ~ Karina Halle Announcement

Choose the adventure! 


Here's your chance to vote for the destination of Karina Halle's next novel!

Enter this simple poll, and choose one of these three amazing locations: Amalfi Coast, South of France, Prague. 

Karina and her assistant will jet to the winning destination for a week-long, interactive adventure, where YOU can participate as they take part in all the fun tourist attractions you've chosen. The entire trip will be captured on video and with photos so you too can relish in this unforgettable experience.

Cast your vote now through the Rafflecopter!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Review: Not Your Damn Submissive by Amy Valenti

Not your damn submissive Amy Valenti
Series Order Number: Denial #1
Release Date: June 6, 2014
Publisher: Fido Publishing
Genre: Erotica
Source: Copy provided for honest review
Rating: 1/2

I’m beyond pissed off with Callum Connors. 

Yeah—THE Callum Connors, star of my favourite TV show…and all my most private fantasies.

He’s a self-confessed Dom, and he wants me, even though I told him outright that I’m not interested in submission or in him.

But then I kissed him.

What possessed me? I don’t even remember who started it, me or him—just that I brushed against him, and then we were on the way to third base in the middle of the set.

Maybe I should have told him no again afterwards, but I just wanted to escape before he tried to take it further. I didn’t think I’d be able to resist him.

I still don’t.

Now he’s somehow thrown us together for two whole weeks, getting the studio to temporarily change my job from set decorator to his personal assistant. I can live with being his assistant, but I am not his damn submissive.

No matter how sexy he is.


One star is perhaps a bit harsh, so I’m giving it a 1.5. I know, it’s not much better but let me explain. 

I had zero connection to this book. Not to the story or the characters. 

Kat is a set designer’s assistant at a large studio. When she hears that actor Callum Connor is going to be on the lot to film a pilot, she decides she needs to take a vacation at that time. See, Callum is rumored to be into BDSM, a Dom. Kat has watched Callum on the big screen, formed a bit of crush even, but her past keeps her from wanting to be anywhere near his supposed strong personality. 

At this point you’re probably wondering what happened to make her run from a job where she might be in the same room with a celeb who may or may not even take notice of her. 

Well… 

When Kat was younger, a vulnerable young thing, she read a book. Just one, apparently. One book with some kink in it that prompted her to tell her much older boyfriend that she was interested in being dominated. No research was done, no further reading… just “Hey, let me be your sub…whatever that means.” 

It does not turn out well. In fact, it turns out horribly wrong. It turns extremely abusive. 

This is what causes her to attempt to avoid Callum. It’s an unsuccessful attempt and on the first day of knowing each other, after mere minutes of conversation…Callum is bare ass spanking her. 

I’m not quite sure this is how the D/s world works. In fact, I’m fairly sure this is not how it works. 

It was an unbelievable scenario. I realize this is Erotica and plot is not the main focus, but it was needed. 

Kat fights her attraction, but again fails. Once she decides she does have an undeniable attraction she finally finds her way to Google and one night of research has her figuring out she was an idiot. 

I felt like she was an idiot start to finish, sadly. Callum was entirely too forward and pushy, it did not feel like a responsible response to a D/s relationship and honestly…shouldn’t that be the entire point of the story given Kat’s past?  Granted, he's unaware of her past and when he does find out he eases off.  However, the entire plot just never settled in the right spot for me.



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...